From Changeling (the 2008 movie) to Institute for FemiKnowlogy

April 5, 2009

I just finished watching Changeling, the 2008 film directed by Clint Eastwood. I’ve had the DVD from Netflix since about March 20th, waiting until I was in a frame of mind to watch it. Why? Because of my own experiences of a local government run amuck (Google: Kern County witch hunt; Kern County Child molestation ring; Just Ask My Children).

Changeling explores female disempowerment, political corruption, child endangerment and the repercussions of violence. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Changeling_(2008_film)

Difficult for me to watch were the scenes where Christine Collins, skillfully portrayed by Angelina Jolie, is “thrown” into the psychiatric hospital, without benefit of “a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury” Cause? Paranoia and delusions of persecution. Anti-social behaviors to be sure. But what are they when grounded in a woman’s efforts to fight for her rights or get to the truth? Truth that others don’t want reveled?

Like Christine Collins, I could not sign a piece of paper admitting to what I knew to be untrue. As a result I was marginalized and mentally broken by the very people who had taken professional oaths to “do no harm.”

It has been 25 years since my babies were abducted by Kern County. For 3 years I fought for them. In the end, an out of county judge stated, “this is the story of a family in the wrong place at the wrong time.” I regained custody, but at what cost to myself and those children?

For the longest time, as I fought to regain my sanity, I also fought to regain my honor, my name, my reputation. I finally realized that those who truly care enough to get to know me personally know who I am. They are witnesses to my honor, my reputation, my ethics and integrity.  

25 years later I still wonder about the effects to those 80 plus children who were used and abused by the powers in force at the time. I see the effects on my own daughters who were removed from my care and custody and  subjected to a system that knowingly allowed them to be physically, mentally, emotionally and sexually abused without recourse. Social workers who recommended their return to my custody were removed from the case, jobs threatened.

Part of the healing process is forgiveness. When asked if I can forgive myself, I answer yes. Yes I can forgive myself for not having the know-how to protect myself and my children. I learned how.

 Lessons learned? I didn’t seek to learn how to fight political corruption. Can any of us correct the faults of another? I did learn that if I want a better home, a better marriage, a better government, I must be a better person. I learned to honor my own power and let my voice be heard. I learned to set boundaries and limits against those who would use or abuse me for personal or political gain. I learned that “the ability for a woman to grab hold of self-empowerment is dependent upon the skills she is able to learn.” http://www.articlesbase.com/self-help-articles/selfempowerment-tips-for-women-finding-your-inner-power-source-791668.html

For this reason I founded Institute for FemiKnowlogy as a means to assist other females in their efforts to gain the skills they want and need to thrive in the 21st century.  

FemiKnowlogy™ is not about feminist vs. traditional female roles. It does not see color, religious or socio-economic standing. Its focus is not on the right-to-choose or right-to-life. It is instead, all about understanding the rights and responsibilities of females in the 21st century and gaining the skills needed to exercise both.

FemiKnowlogy understands that no matter what role a female chooses in the 21st century, she still needs a safe and secure home and the skills to maintain that home. To secure her personal safety and well-being she needs loving relationships that honor her values and unique identity. It includes personal finance knowledge and skills, business/career development, and techno-savvy. FemiKnowlogy incorporates traditional home making skills, upgraded and augmented with emotional intelligence to form safe, supportive relationships. It provides workshops for personal, professional, business and spiritual awareness and development.

All of this is enveloped in the understanding that we are created beings and the acknowledgment that there is a Higher Power. We as females connect to that power even in the mundane chores of life. It is through this connection that we find our truest source of power and inner peace.

I invite females from all walks of life to join me in the discovery of LIFE v21.0.9

Leave a Reply

