Gastronomic Simplicity

April 4, 2009

Friends and acquaintances who know me well know that I am not big on restaurants. I am a fabulous cook, as good as, if not better than, the majority of our local restaurants. Fast food, for health and ethical reasons, is for emergencies only. For this reason, if you hear me recommend a local restaurant, know it is going to be a gastronomic delight. Like Santorini’s in Beaverton. Be sure to order the lamb chops or the pork schnitzel. OMG!!!

 

If you are a local Portland-Metro business woman doing busines with me, chances are I will invite you to my home-office for a meeting at some point. The benefit to you is that I will delight you with my home-chef cooking skills. For instance, Vickie Olsen of laPlanette, LLC., and I discussed I.F. strategy over a delightful lunch of Lentils, Monastery Style with bread and a “21st-century” fruit salad this afternoon.

I know you want to do biz with me now! 😛

 

Lentils, Monastery Style   4 – 6 servings

In a large pot sauté 3-5 minutes:

1/4 c. peanut oil (read here why peanut oil)
1 large onions, chopped
1 carrot, chopped

Add and sauté 1 minute more:
1/2 t. thyme
1/2 t. marjoram

Add:
1 c. dry lentils, washed
1/4 c. chopped fresh parsley
3 c. stock or water salt and pepper to taste
1 lb. diced tomatoes

Cook in covered pot until lentils are tender (about 45 minutes)

Have ready: 2/3 c. grated Swiss cheese

To serve place 2 T. grated cheese in each bowl and top with soup. Good with fresh baked sourdough bread.

 

Recipe from Diet for a Small Planet by Frances Moore Lappé – Eleventh printing April 1990

Leave a Reply

